DeAnne Olguin Williamson

DeAnne Oliguin Williamson is an amazing visual artist who mingles the written word with her illustrations. La Palabra is honored to share her images with our audience.

DeAnne Oliguin Williamson is an amazing visual artist who mingles the written word with her illustrations. La Palabra is honored to share her images with our audience.

DeAnne explains the inspiration behind her artwork:

For me, the most important part about creating art is the process. I immerse myself in the doing, the feeling, the expressing. I am constantly on the lookout for inspiration. Sunsets, song lyrics, the cut of a beautiful dress, or even just an emotion that comes over me have all at one time or another inspired a piece of my work. I want my art to always come from the deepest places. My best pieces are usually the ones that inspire those feelings in the viewer.

When I was growing up, I was often accused of being too sensitive. I began to see sensitivity as a negative trait. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve come to embrace it for what it is. It’s what enables me to envelop myself in beauty, to really feel pain, to express fears. Sensitivity can be hard to bear but I know that it is what drives my need to express myself. It keeps me just a little bit restless and curious about what lies around the corner. I always want to know more, to feel more, to improve my forms of expression.

While developing my work, I try to follow my thoughts rather than lead them. When I start painting, the first thing I do is dive down within myself. What am I feeling? What am I yearning for? What do I need to communicate? These are the things that go into my art. That’s why poetry has been a big part of my work. Graceful words marry colorful visuals to express deep sentiments. Quite often, I have no idea where a piece will come from or where it will go. It’s as if the work takes on a life of its own. These things may not be perceived at first glance, but making art is the best way I know to take the weight of the world and turn it into magnificent light.

I have come to rely on my art as a means of connection. I have a need to express my voice just like I have a need for water and air. Art to me is life. My life is on the canvas. It’s colorful, it’s messy, it’s heartfelt and melancholy sometimes. But at its core, it is entirely me.

DeAnne Olguin Williamson
www.deannewilliamson.com

Find DeAnne on facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/deanneolguinwilliamson

*photo provided by artist

This entry was posted in Palabracitas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

